DCPLive is a blog by library staff at the DeKalb County Public Library!
Jan 20 2010

2010 Newbery and Caldecott Medal Winners Announced!

by Nancy M

imagesThis past Monday the American Library Association announced the year’s best in children’s books and media. This much anticipated event includes a couple of the most well-known and prestigious awards- The Newbery and Caldecott Medals. The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author with the most outstanding contribution to American literature for children and has been awarded since 1922. The Caldecott Medal, awarded since 1937, is given to the artist with the most distinguished American children’s picture book.

And so, without further ado, the winner of this year’s Newbery Medal is:

Stead When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

And the winner of the Caldecott Medal is:

lion The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

For a complete list of youth awards given this year, check out the American Library Association’s website.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: