DCPLive is a blog by library staff at the DeKalb County Public Library!
May 27 2014

2013 Bram Stoker Award Winners

by Jesse M

bsawinners2013A couple of weekends ago, the Horror Writers Association handed out its annual Bram Stoker Awards at the World Horror Convention in Portland. In all, fourteen haunted-house statuettes were awarded to the writers responsible for creating superior works of horror in 2013. Notable recipients included Stephen King and R.L. Stine. You can view the full list of winners here.

Stephen King won in the “Superior Achievement in a NOVEL” category for Doctor Sleep (a sequel to his 1977 novel The Shining). King, arguably one of the most well-known writers of popular fiction alive today, is famous for the plethora of his novels that have been adapted into successful films, including The Shining, Stand by Me, and The Shawshank Redemption, among many others.

R.L. Stine was one of two people honored with a lifetime achievement award (the other was editor Stephen Jones). This prestigious award is given in recognition of the recipient’s overall body of work. Throughout R.L. Stine’s lengthy career he has written fiction for kids, teens, and adults, and is responsible for the very popular Goosebumps series, among many others (including Fear Street, Mostly Ghostly, The Nightmare Room, and Rotten School series).

You can view a video of the awards ceremony here.

Horror fans may be interested to know that next year’s awards will be held here in Atlanta.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: